Looking back at last week, I am really proud of this class. After three quarters together (add a year on top of that for half of the class!), they continue to impress me with their maturity, flexibility, creativity, and skill.

The two major focuses of last week were our Skype call to Gadsden, Alabama as part of The 50 States Project, and our Math Inquiry Project. In both projects, I saw students who were willing to work hard, collaborate, and accomplish worthwhile goals. My desire in teaching is to help equip citizens who can think for themselves, problem solve, work together, and make meaningful accomplishments, and this group is helping me to believe that we’re actually nailing some of those targets.

In the past few days, I’ve been in contact with several other educators around the country who are interested working with our class. In each conversation, we have received compliments for the quality of the work the students are creating. That means so much to me. Obviously, I want for all of these kids to pass their state standardized tests. More than that, however, I want to see them building and perpetuating patterns of high quality communication, collaboration, integration and innovation.

The school year is quickly coming to a close, and I’ll be sad to see this group head out the door. We’re definitely not done yet, though. Only 8 more weeks to go, but a whole universe of opportunities to venture into.

