There is no shortage of new technology tools. Practically every day or two I hear about some new website, web2.0 service, or app that is generating buzz. I try to take at lease a brief look at anything that seems remotely interesting or valuable but, honestly, most are fun for a few days but easily forgotten in the long run.

I came across Storify about a couple weeks ago and signed up for an account. It sounded interesting, but I wasn’t completely sure what it was our how it might be useful either for me, personally, or for my students. It wasn’t until I saw some of the digital stories created by another teacher that I began to get a clue of Storify’s possible value. I appreciate the work that Aviva Dunsiger – a grade 1 teacher from Ontario, Canada – has put into exploring how Storify can be used in the classroom. She definitely turned on some “lightbulbs” for me.

Storify is, basically, an interface that allows you to create and publish online stories by aggregating content from a wide range of Internet sources. You can, as the website states, collect items for your story from anywhere on the Internet. Embed videos from YouTube, posts from Twitter, Facebook or Google+, or bring in photos from Flickr or Instagram. Anywhere you find interesting or noteworthy content, you can integrate it into a unified story using Storify.

To test out how we might use it in the classroom, I created the following story about a Titanic-related activity we did this week. It is simple, but it sparks ideas for me of future potential.
 
[View the story “Building The Titanic” on Storify]

