When all of the fifth grade students from our entire school district got together to kick off the project that will try to help them all graduate high school, each school chose a representative.

Xandrea was our representative.

image

The video above is the speech she gave to a packed gymnasium. There were many excellent speakers during the presentation, but seeing our kid up there…speaking words that matter to her…that was the best part of the day.

One of the best parts of being a teacher is being able to see my students succeed. Sometimes, that success is immediate. Other times, it takes years to see the fruit of the hard work and encouragement that happens in our classroom. I have run into kids years down the road as they are working in the community or going to college or, simply, going about the business of life. Every time, I hope to see success…happiness…some kind of personal arrival.

Today, I got to see Xandrea arrive.

She took the microphone, looked a thousand kids in the eye, spoke her words…and arrived.

And that confirmed for me, once again, that I have the best job in the world.

